Events

 The Events listed below that are not Public Events are for Members and Guests only. However, if you are interested in what we do and are considering becoming a member, you are very welcome to join us. Please contact the Social Secretary via the Contacts page so that we can arrange your visit.  

  • Sat 15th Jul 2017 10:00:am
    Napper Trophy – This is the Society's annual steam locomotive efficiency competition and a private running day. Viewing spectators are very welcome. Sorry, this event has been cancelled

  • Sun 16th Jul 2017 2:00:pm
    Diesel Outline Day – Diesel outlined locomotives will have priority on the track today.

  • Sun 23rd Jul 2017 2:00:pm
    Bring Your Teddy Special – Children accompanied by their Teddy Bear will get one free ride.

  • Sun 30th Jul 2017 2:00:pm
    LMS Running Day – LMS liveried locomotives will have priority on the track today.

  • Wed 9th Aug 2017 6:30:pm
    Maintenance / Loco Running – The track will be open for those who wish to help carry out maintenance, run their locos or simply to catch up with their fellow members and the evening could be rounded off with a fish & chip supper.

  • Fri 18th Aug 2017
    Bristol Model Engineering & Model Making Exhibition.This exhibition is open to the general public and is well worth a visit. Come and see us at the Society's display stand.

  • Wed 13th Sep 2017 6:30:pm
    50th Anniversary Preparations – This is an opportunity for us to meet and make any last minute preparations for the 50th Anniversary Celebrations.

  • Sat 16th Sep 2017 10:00:am
    50th Anniversary Celebrations – Please join us in celebrating  50 years of the Somerset & Dorset Memorial Railway.

  • Sun 17th Sep 2017 10:00:am
    50th Anniversary Celebrations – Please join us in celebrating 50 years of the Somerset & Dorset Memorial Railway.

  • Mon 18th Sep 2017 10:00:am
    Live Steamer’s Visit – This is a private running day. Members who wish to help and viewing spectators are very welcome.

  • Wed 11th Oct 2017 7:00:pm
    Chairman’s Evening – Our Chairman will be giving us a light hearted yet informative presentation.

  • Thu 19th Oct 2017
    Midlands Model Engineering Exhibition – This exhibition is open to the general public and is well worth a visit.

  • Sat 28th Oct 2017 4:00:pm
    Halloween Special"All aboard the Ghost Train"